Yankee doodle dandy!

The United States championship takes place from the 13th to the 25th of May in Saint Louis.
It will be surprising if the winner doesn't come from the top trio of Nakamura, Kamsky and Onischuk.

Here are the players who have been selected for this 24-player 9 round swiss.

•The defending U.S. Champion - GM Hikaru Nakamura

•The winner of the 2009 U.S. Senior Open Championship - GM Larry Christiansen

•The winner of the 2009 U.S. Junior Championship - GM Ray Robson

•The top five qualifiers from the 2009 U.S. Open Championship

GM Alex Lenderman

GMs Sergey Kudrin

Alex Yermolinsky

Dmitry Gurevich

and Jesse Kraai

•The winner of the 2010 ICC State Champion of Champions - IM Levon Altounian

•The top 11 U.S. players by rating of the United States Chess Federation:

◦GM Gata Kamsky

◦GM Alexander Onischuk

◦GM Varuzhan Akobian

◦GM Yury Shulman

◦GM Jaan Ehlvest

◦GM Alexander Shabalov

◦GM Gregory Kaidanov

◦GM Robert Hess

◦GM Melikset Khachiyan

◦GM Joel Benjamin

◦GM Ben Finegold

•Four wildcard spots:

◦GM Alexander Stripunsky

◦GM Vinay Bhat

◦IM Sam Shankland

◦IM Irina Krush

The prize fund is clearly far higher than in most national championships.

1st Place $35,000

2nd Place $20,000

3rd Place $15,000

4th Place $10,000

5th Place $10,000

6th Place $7,500

7th Place $6,600

8th Place $6,000

9th Place $5,400

10th Place $5,000

11th Place $4,800

12th Place $4,600

13th Place $4,400

14th Place $4,200

15th Place $4,000

16th Place $3,800

17th Place $3,700

18th Place $3,600

19th Place $3,500

20th Place $3,400

21st Place $3,300

22nd Place $3,200

23rd Place $3,100

24th Place $3,000

First round pairings:

1GM Alexander Stripunsky2570GM Hikaru Nakamura2733
2GM Gata Kamsky2702GM Ray Robson2569
3GM Joel Benjamin2565GM Alexander Onischuk2699
4GM Yury Shulman2613GM Vinay Bhat2547
5GM Ben Finegold2539GM Varuzhan Akobian2599
6GM Aleksandr Lenderman2598GM Melikset Khachiyan2539
7GM Alex Yermolinsky2528GM Jaan Ehlvest2591
8GM Robert Hess2590IM Samuel Shankland2507
9GM Jesse Kraai2492GM Alexander Shabalov2585
10GM Larry Christiansen2578GM Dmitry Gurevich2488
11IM Irina Krush2455GM Gregory Kaidanov2577
12GM Sergey Kudrin2571IM Levon Altounian2454

You can watch the games live (click on the 2010 championship logo on the right-hand side) and can find more information on the championship official tournament site.

Published on , Updated on