SIMPLECHESS

The Rostov Women's Grand Prix

The twelve players © official site
Rostov-on-Don in southern Russia is the venue for the first in a new series of Grand Prix events for Women. Seven of the World's Top Ten are involved including the World Champion Hou Yifan. A tournament that qualifies for being the strongest ever for women!

Rostov-on-Don is the venue from the 1st-15th of August for this exceptional event. The previous series for Women was highly successful. The present one, of six events, will lead to a challenger being designated to meet the present World Champion Hou Yifan in 2013 over ten games.

The average rating is a couple of points higher than that seen last month in Hangzhou, China, so the record is again broken: Which means that we have the strongest ever all-women event!

Here is a list of the participants:

Seed Name Country Title Rating World Rank Age
  1  Humpy Koneru IND GM 2614 2 24
  2  Hou Yifan CHN GM 2575 3 17
  3  Nadezhda Kosintseva RUS GM 2560 4 26
  4  Tatiana Kosintseva RUS GM 2557 5 25
  5  Anna Muzychuk SLO GM 2538 6 21
  6  Kateryna Lahno UKR GM 2536 8 21
  7  Antoaneta Stefanova BUL GM 2524 10 32
  8  Elina Danielian ARM GM 2521 12 32
  9  Alexandra Kosteniuk RUS GM 2497 17 27
 10  Alisa Galliamova RUS WGM 2492 18 39
 11  Ruan Lufei CHN WGM 2479 24 23
 12  Ekaterina Kovalevskaya RUS WGM 2427 49 37

The Schedule:

Date               Rounds etc.
01st August 2011 Opening ceremony
02nd August 2011 1st Round
03rd August 2011  2nd Round
04th August 2011  3rd Round
05th August 2011 4th Round
06th August 2011 Rest day
07th August 2011 5th Round
08th August 2011  6th Round
09th August 2011  7th Round
10th August 2011 8th Round
11th August 2011 Rest day
12th August 2011 9th Round
13th August 2011 10th Round
14th August 2011 11th Round

Times of the rounds:

Rounds 1-10 at 3 pm local time (1pm Paris, 12 noon London, 7am New York)

Rounds 11 at 12 noon (10am Paris, 9am London, 4am New York).

Official site: http://rostov2011.fide.com

Live games: http://rostov2011.fide.com/tournament-games.html

Calendar for the six Grand Prix events for Women 2011-2012:

Dates Place Country
August 1st-15th 2011 Rostov Russia
September 6th-20th 2011 Shenzhen China
October 8th-23rd 2011 Nalchik Russia
May 30th to June 13th 2012 Kazan Russia
July 16th-30th 2012 Jermuk Armenia
November 16th-30th 2012 Istanbul Turkey

Tournament

position

Prizes Points
1st 6,500 € 120 points+40 bonus
2nd 4.750 € 110 points+20 bonus
3rd 4.000 € 100 points+10 bonus
4th 3.750 € 90 points
5th 3.500 € 80 points
6th 3.250 € 70 points
7th 3.000 € 60 points
8th 2.750 € 50 points
9th 2.500 € 40 points
10th 2.250 € 30 points
11th 2.000 € 20 points
12th 1.750 € 10 points

Published on , Updated on

React to this article

Top of page ▲
All the members having a valid membership (out of trying period) can comment the articles. Let's subscribe !

Reactions (0)

  • No reaction for the moment