SIMPLECHESS

Svidler en route for his sixth title!

In play in Moscow (official site)
A win with Black over Artyom Timofeev has left Peter Svidler in a dominating position with only two rounds remaining. Svidler, who has already won the Russian Championship five times before, was helped out by Ian Nepomniachtchi who beat his closest rival Alexander Morozevich.

Here is the fifth round summary:

White Rating Result Black Rating
Alexander Grischuk  2746  ½-½ Vladimir Kramnik 2781
Ian Nepomniachtchi  2711  1-0 Alexander Morozevich 2694
Artyom Timofeev 2665  0-1 Peter Svidler 2739
Alexander Galkin 2598  ½-½ Sergey Karjakin 2788

The table after the fifth round:

Posn. Name Rating 01 02 03 04 05 06 07 08 Score
1st Peter Svidler (1) 2739 * . ½ ½ 1 . 1 1 4
2nd Alexander Morozevich (2) 2694 . * ½ 1 . 0 ½  1 3
3rd-6th Sergey Karjakin (3) 2788 ½ ½ * 0 1 . ½  .
3rd-6th Alexander Grischuk (4) 2746 ½ 0 1 * ½ ½  . .
3rd-6th Vladimir Kramnik (5) 2781 0 . 0 ½ * 1 . 1
3rd-6th Ian Nepomniachtchi (6) 2711  . 1 . ½ 0 ½ ½ 2½ 
7th Alexander Galkin (7) 2598 0 ½ ½ . . ½ * ½ 2
8th Artyom Timofeev (8) 2665 0 0 . . 0 ½ ½ * 1

Rounds 6 to 7: 14th and 15th of August, when the games starts at 1pm local time, except the last round, which begins at 11am.

1pm Moscow = 11am Paris = 10am London = 5am New York = 2am Los Angeles = 9pm Sydney

No draw offers before the time control at the 40th move. I believe that this will become standard practise in future in big events, rather than banning draw offers altogether!

The prize fund:

 

3 500 000 roubles (about 87 000 €)

1st 950.000 RUB (24 000 €)

2nd 700.000 RUB (17 000 €)

3rd 500.000 RUB (12 000 €)

4th 450.000 RUB (11 000 €)

5th 350.000 RUB (8 000 €)

6th 300.000 RUB (7 000 €)

7th 150.000 RUB (3 500 €)

8th 100.000 RUB (2 500 €)

 

You can understand why the big names have all played this time!

More information from the official site: http://www.russiachess.org/

You can follow the games live on the official site from 1 pm (Moscow), except for the last round which begins two hours earlier at 11am local time.

 


Published on , Updated on

React to this article

Top of page ▲
All the members having a valid membership (out of trying period) can comment the articles. Let's subscribe !

Reactions (0)

  • No reaction for the moment