SIMPLECHESS

Morozevich beats the Champion

Alexander Morozevich
Peter Svidler won the title yesterday after obtaining an unassailable lead in the Russian Championships in Moscow. Today however he was comprehensively beaten by Alexander Morozevich, who thus gained second place alone. Morozevich has been in great form this summer, but must be regretting having overpressed against Ian Nepomniachtchi a couple of rounds ago.

The last round summary:

White Rating Result Black Rating
Alexander Galkin 2598 0-1 Vladimir Kramnik 2781
Artyom Timofeev  2665 ½-½ Alexander Grischuk 2746
Ian Nepomniachtchi 2711 ½-½ Sergey Karjakin 2788
Alexander Morozevich  2694 1-0 Peter Svidler 2739

Final standings:

Posn. Name Rating 01 02 03 04 05 06 07 08 Score
1st Peter Svidler (1) 2739 * 0 ½ ½ 1 1 1 1 5
2nd-4th Alexander Morozevich (2) 2694 1 * ½ 1 ½ 0 ½  1
2nd-4th Sergey Karjakin (3) 2788 ½ ½ * 0 1 ½ ½  1 4
2nd-4th Alexander Grischuk (4) 2746 ½ 0 1 * ½ ½  1 ½ 4
5th Vladimir Kramnik (5) 2781 0 ½ 0 ½ * 1 1 1 4
6th Ian Nepomniachtchi (6) 2711  0 1 ½ ½ 0 ½ ½
7th Alexander Galkin (7) 2598 0 ½ ½ 0 0 ½ * ½ 2
8th Artyom Timofeev (8) 2665 0 0 0 ½ 0 ½ ½ *

Round 7: 15th of August, the games start at 11am.

11am Moscow = 9am Paris = 8am London = 3am New York = midnight in Los Angeles = 7pm Sydney

No draw offers before the time control at the 40th move. I believe that this will become standard practise in future in big events, rather than banning draw offers altogether!

The prize fund:

 

3 500 000 roubles (about 87 000 €)

1st 950.000 RUB (24 000 €)

2nd 700.000 RUB (17 000 €)

3rd 500.000 RUB (12 000 €)

4th 450.000 RUB (11 000 €)

5th 350.000 RUB (8 000 €)

6th 300.000 RUB (7 000 €)

7th 150.000 RUB (3 500 €)

8th 100.000 RUB (2 500 €)

 

More information from the official site: http://www.russiachess.org/


Published on , Updated on

React to this article

Top of page ▲
All the members having a valid membership (out of trying period) can comment the articles. Let's subscribe !

Reactions (0)

  • No reaction for the moment