SIMPLECHESS

Nakamura and Bu through to the Semis.

Both Hikaru Nakamura and Xianghzi Bu continued their impressive form with convincing quarter-final victories. The other quarter-finals are tomorrow with many looking forward to the Polgar-Ivanchuk clash.
See our Cap d'Agde video reports below.

The first two quarter-finals were rather one-sided. The first Hammer-Nakamura game was fairly balanced when the Norwegian blundered losing the exchange. In the second game with Black he never obtained any winning chances at all.

Quarter Finals:

Jon Ludvig Hammer2633NOR0-1Hikaru Nakamura2733USASicilian b3Bad blunder from Hammer in the rook and knight pseudo-endgame
Hikaru Nakamura2733USA1-0Jon Ludvig Hammer2633NORSpanish Delayed ExchangeHammer was forced to take risks to try and win and Nakamura refuted Hammer's activity with a strong exchange sacrifice

In the first game Bu outplayed Pelletier from a fairly level position with the Chinese player winning a smooth positional game.

Pelletier then needed to win with Black but, despite the Swiss-player's best efforts to destablize events, Bu kept control and was able to organize a perpetual check.

Hikaru Nakamura: still looking strong (chessanytime)
The blunder in the first game was a Hammer-blow to Jon Ludvig (chessanytime)
Hikaru Nakamura: still looking strong (chessanytime)
The blunder in the first game was a Hammer-blow to Jon Ludvig (chessanytime)
Yannick Pelletier2592SUI0-1Xiangzhi Bu2695CHNCatalanWhite ran out of things to do and Bu broke through on the queenside.
Xiangzhi Bu2695CHN0.5-0.5Yannick Pelletier2592SUIEnglish/HedgehogPelletier tried (with ...f5 and ...b5) to mix things but White was never rattled by this show of force.

A selection of videos from Cap d'Agde:

Here are the preliminary round tables:

RankNameCountryRatingPoints
1Hikaru NakamuraUSA27336.5
2Bu XiangzhiCHN26955.5
3Nguyen Ngoc Truong SonVIE26334
4Judit PolgarHUN26823.5
5Romain EdouardFRA26363
6=Anatoly KarpovRUS26192.5
6=Nadezhda KosintsevaRUS25652.5
8Sophie MillietFRA23880.5

Pool B:

RankNameCountryRatingPoints
1=Vassily IvanchukUKR27545.5
1=Le Quang LiemVIE26945.5
3=Jon Ludvig HammerNOR26334
3=Yannick PelletierSUI25924
5=Tigran GharamianFRA26583
5=Kateryna LahnoUKR25393
7Zhu ChenQAT24802
8Tatiana KosintsevaRUS25731

Live games can be watched everyday from 14.30 local time Live Games

The English-language commentators being Glenn Flear (that is, yours truly!) and Javier Moreno.

Moscow 16.30am

Paris, Madrid 14.30am

London 13.30

New York 08.30am

Los Angeles 05.30am

For more information go to the Official site


Published on , Updated on