Countdown to Carlsen-Kramnik

It's the second rest day in Wijk aan Zee before tomorrow's ninth round including the clash between Carlsen and Kramnik. Remember Carlsen won against the former World Champion in London last month.
Ivanchuk has the White pieces against Shirov who begins a double-black.
For subscribers there is a new endgame video (see Videos) plus an analysis of the latter stages of Short-Kramnik (see Notable games, Analysis of the Week) where Short should really have won.

Sergey TiviakovNED2662Viswanathan AnandIND2790
Jan SmeetsNED2657Fabiano CaruanaITA2675
Loek van WelyNED2641Peter LekoHUN2739
Nigel ShortENG2696Leinier DominguezCUB2712
Hikaru NakamuraUSA2708Sergey KarjakinRUS2720
Magnus CarlsenNOR2810Vladimir KramnikRUS2788
Vassily IvanchukUKR2749Alexei ShirovESP2723

Apart from Carlsen-Kramnik there will be much interest in the game between the unpredictable Ivanchuk and the leader. Shirov will then have to play Anand with the black pieces in round ten, so it won't be easy to retain his lead.

1Alexei ShirovESP27236
2=Magnus CarlsenNOR28105.5
2=Vladimir KramnikRUS27885.5
4Hikaru NakamuraUSA27085
5=Vassily IvanchukUKR27494.5
5=Peter LekoHUN27394.5
5=Sergey KarjakinRUS27204.5
5=Leinier DominguezCUB27124.5
9Viswanathan AnandIND27904
10Fabiano CaruanaITA26753.5
11=Nigel ShortENG26962.5
11=Sergey TiviakovNED26622.5
13Loek van WelyNED26412
14Jan SmeetsNED26571.5


Of the four leading players only Wesley So has White tomorrow.

David HowellENG2606Erwin l'AmiNED2615
Anna MuzychukSLO2523Anish GiriNED2588
Arkadij NaiditschGER2687Tomi NybackFIN2643
Wesley SoPHI2656Emil SutovskyISR2666
Varuzhan AkobianUSA2628Ni HuaCHN2657
Parimarjan NegiIND2621Dimitri ReindermanNED2573
Penteala HarikrishnaIND2672Liviu-Dieter NisipeanuROM2681

If anyone is going to catch Anish Giri they will need a big score from their five remaining games.

1GMAnish GiriNED25886.5
2=GMNi HuaCHN26575
2=GMWesley SoPHI26565
2=GMErwin l'AmiNED26155
5=GMDavid HowellENG26064.5
5=GMArkadij NaiditschGER26874.5
5=GMPenteala HarikrishnaIND26724.5
8GMParimarjan NegiIND26214
9GMEmil SutovskyISR26573.5
10=GMLiviu-Dieter NisipeanuROM26813
10=GMTomi NybackFIN26433
10=IMAnna MuzychukSLO25233
13GMDimitri ReindermanNED25732.5
14GMVaruzhan AkobianUSA26282

Group C

Li Chao-b versus Robson could be decisive for determining the tournament winner.

Zhaoqin PengNED2402Soumya SwaminathanIND2323
Benjamin BokNED2322Stefan KuipersNED2340
Daniele VocaturoITA2495Marya MuzychukUKR2447
Sjoerd PlukkelNED2279Robin SwinkelsNED2495
Li Chao-bCHN2604Ray RobsonUSA2570
Robin van KampenNED2456Abhijeet GuptaIND2577
Kjetil LieNOR2547Nils GrandeliusSWE2515

The three highest rated players are now in the leading three positions, with Gupta (in equal second with Li Chao-b) facing Van Kempen with Black.

1GMRay RobsonUSA25706
2=GMLi Chao-bCHN26045.5
2=GMAbhijeet GuptaIND25775.5
4=GMDaniele VocaturoITA24955
4=IMRobin SwinkelsNED24955
6=IMNils GrandeliusSWE25154.5
6=GMZhaoqin PengNED24024.5
8=GMKjetil LieNOR25474
8=IMRobin van KempenNED24564
10FMStefan KuipersNED23403.5
11WGMMarya MuzychukUKR24473
12FMBenjamin BokNED23222.5
13=WGMSoumya SwaminathanIND23231.5
13=-Sjoerd PlukkelNED22791.5

For further information official site

Published on , Updated on