Carlsen again!

The younger players had a strong influence in this year's Corus festival. Not just Magnus Carlsen but Anish Giri and others confirmed their progress towards the very top.
Some of these youngsters have probably made their trainers happy!?
In the top group only Nakamura won, otherwise the top positions remain the same with of course Carlsen winning the tournament.
Yet another milestone in his string of successes in recent months!
See the final Video report and tables below.

In the last round the second youngest player in Group A (Magnus Carlsen) was paired against the youngest (Fabiano Caruana) who gave him a good run for his money! The third youngest, Sergey Karjakin, was last year's winner.

In the B-Group the youngest participant (Anish Giri) won the tournament. However in the third pool there were several promising schoolboys, but the winner was Li Chao who is already pushing on middle-age at 21!

Here are the youngest players in each pool:

/AFabiano CaruanaITA2675267330/7/199217
/AMagnus CarlsenNOR2810282530/11/199019
/ASergey KarjakinRUS2720274712/1/199020
/BAnish GiriNED2588277528/6/199415
/BWesley SoPHI265626819/10/199316
/BParimarjan NegiIND262126299/2/199316
/CBenjamin BokNED23222493199514?
/CRobin Van KampenNED24562539199415?
/CRay RobsonUSA2570250025/10/199415
/CNils GrandeliusSWE25152421199316?

In a quiet line of the Spanish, after some typical manoeuvring Carlsen found an interesting piece sacrifice, but Caruana found a way to give back the material under promising circumstances.

Rather than suffer a chronically-bad bishop the Norwegian sought to open play with the downside of losing a pawn.

The knight ending favoured Black but Carlsen held.

Short sacrificed a couple of pieces to expose Black's king, however it only led to a perpetual check.

Kramnik didn't feel like taking any risks against Karjakin's solid set-up and acquiesced to a draw.

Ivanchuk and Leko indulged in mass simplification which led to a drawn endgame.

Anand played a nice combination that liberated his position. In the process he was able to net two pawns and a rook for a couple of minor pieces and ultimately dynamic equality.

Nakamura and Tiviakov manoeuvred with the American having the bishop pair and the naturalized Dutchman some compensating space.

Eventually the bishops became too strong and the presence of passed pawns on both wings ensured that Nakamura won. The only winner in Group-A today.

Tiviakov has had several long-winded cat-and-mouse struggles in this event, so perhaps he was the most tired of the pair.

Shirov was again happy to indulge in complications with Dominguez. A classic Sicilian scenario with opposite sides castling, White pushing his kingside pawns and Black expanding on the other flank.

Shirov seemed to have tipped the balance in his favour with the cheeky capture of Black's a-pawn and created dangerous threats. However Dominguez gave as good as he got before offering a draw with a piece for two pawns, although his king was the weaker.

Loek van WelyNED26410.5-0.5Viswanathan AnandIND2790D45Semi-Slav
Nigel ShortENG26960.5-0.5Jan SmeetsNED2657C43Petroff's Defence
Hikaru NakamuraUSA27081-0Sergey TiviakovNED2662B01Scandinavian Defence
Magnus CarlsenNOR28100.5-0.5Fabiano CaruanaITA2675C77Spanish 5 d3
Vassily IvanchukUKR27490.5-0.5Peter LekoHUN2739D46Semi-Slav
Alexei ShirovESP27230.5-0.5Leinier DominguezCUB2712B94Sicilian Najdorf
Vladimir KramnikRUS27880.5-0.5Sergey KarjakinRUS2720E15Queen's Indian Defence

Just another couple of weeks at the office for Carlsen who gained only a couple of ELO points in becoming the 2010 champion.

Even so, this will make it even harder for his rivals to catch him in the world rankings.

1=Magnus CarlsenNOR28108.5
2=Vladimir KramnikRUS27888
2=Alexei ShirovESP27238
4=Viswanathan AnandIND27907.5
5=Hikaru NakamuraUSA27087.5
6=Vassily IvanchukUKR27497
6=Sergey KarjakinRUS27207
8=Peter LekoHUN27396.5
8=Leinier DominguezCUB27126.5
10Fabiano CaruanaITA26755.5
11=Nigel ShortENG26965
11=Sergey TiviakovNED26624.5
11=Loek van WelyNED26415
14Jan SmeetsNED26574.5

See the latest video report here plus, in case you missed them before, those covering the earlier rounds.


A draw was enough to be first alone and a draw it was for the revelation of this year's congress: Anish Giri.

Wesley SoPHI26560.5-0.5Anna MuzychukSLO2523E32Nimzoindian Classical
Varuzhan AkobianUSA26281-0David HowellENG2606D85Gruenfeld Exchange
Parimarjan NegiIND26210.5-0.5Anish GiriNED2588C43Petroff's Defence
Penteala HarikrishnaIND26720.5-0.5Tomi NybackFIN2643D31Slav Noteboom
Liviu-Dieter NisipeanuROM26810.5-0.5Emil SutovskyISR2666B86Sicilian Sozin
Dimitri ReindermanNED25730.5-0.5Ni HuaCHN2657A16English Opening
Arkadij NaiditschGER26871-0Erwin l'AmiNED2615C12French McCutcheon

Nine points in such a strong tournament is a remarkable score by anyone let alone a 15-year-old! It will be interesting to see how well Anish Giri does in next year's elite section.

Naiditsch continued his storming finish and manages to steal second place.

1GMAnish GiriNED25889
2GMArkadij NaiditschGER26878.5
3GMNi HuaCHN26578
4=GMWesley SoPHI26567.5
4=GMErwin l'AmiNED26157.5
6=GMPenteala HarikrishnaIND26726.5
6=GMParimarjan NegiIND26216.5
8=GMEmil SutovskyISR26576
8=GMDavid HowellENG26066
10=GMLiviu-Dieter NisipeanuROM26815.5
10=IMAnna MuzychukSLO25235.5
12=GMTomi NybackFIN26435
13=GMDimitri ReindermanNED25735
14GMVaruzhan AkobianUSA26284.5

Group C

The fight for second place between Gupta and Robson was won by the Indian who then ensured himself of second alone.

Vocaturo wins to make a maximum 7/7 with White and van Kempen beat Kuipers to share third with the Italian.

Daniele VocaturoITA24951-0Soumya SwaminathanIND2323B19Caro-Kann Defence
Sjoerd PlukkelNED22790.5-0.5Benjamin BokNED2322C45Scotch Game
Li ChaoCHN26041-0Zhaoqin PengNED2402C18French Winawer
Robin van KampenNED24561-0Stefan KuipersNED2340B51Sicilian Moscow/Rossolimo
Kjetil LieNOR25470-1Marya MuzychukUKR2447A26English Opening
Nils GrandeliusSWE25150-1Robin SwinkelsNED2495B48Sicilian Taimanov
Abhijeet GuptaIND25771-0Ray RobsonUSA2570E01Catalan Opening

Li Chao won again to get to ten points. He was in deadly form throughout except for his loss with White to Grandelius in the seventh round.

Early leader Robson ran out of steam in the second half of the marathon event and slipped to equal fifth.

1GMLi ChaoCHN260410
2GMAbhijeet GuptaIND25778.5
3=GMDaniele VocaturoITA24958
3=IMRobin van KempenNED24568
5=GMRay RobsonUSA25707.5
5=IMRobin SwinkelsNED24957.5
7FMBenjamin BokNED23227
8=IMNils GrandeliusSWE25156
8=WGMMarya MuzychukUKR24476
8=FMStefan KuipersNED23406
11GMKjetil LieNOR25475.5
12GMZhaoqin PengNED24025
13=WGMSoumya SwaminathanIND23233
14=-Sjoerd PlukkelNED22793

For further information official site

Published on , Updated on