SIMPLECHESS

Cap d'Agde 2010 has begun!

The ever-popular chess fastival in Cap d'Agde has begun today. The legendary Anatoly Karpov, as well as high-ranking Vassily Ivanchuk and Hikaru Nakamura are present, as are several of the leading women players including Judit Polgar.

The sixteen players in the Trophée CCAS are divided into two round robins of eight. After the first phase the top four from each group qualify for the quarter-finals, when the tournament becomes a knock-out.

The time limit is 25' with an incremental 10".

Last year's champion Hikaru Nakamura started with a win against Romain Edouard

In today's games there were seven decisive results and one miracle draw:

Pool A:

WhiteCountryRatingResultBlackCountryRating
Judit PolgarHUN26821-0 Nadezhda KosintsevaRUS2565
Sophie MillietFRA23880-1 Nguyen Ngoc Truong SonVIE2633
Bu XiangzhiCHN26951-0 Anatoly KarpovRUS2619
Hikaru NakamuraUSA27331-0 Romain EdouardFRA2636

Pool B:

WhiteCountryRatingResultBlackCountryRating
Vassily IvanchukUKR27541-0 Yannick PelletierSUI2592
Zhu ChenQAT24800.5-0.5 Tigran GharamianFRA2658
Kateryna LahnoUKR25391-0 Tatiana KosintsevaRUS2573
Jon Ludvig HammerNOR26330-1 Le Quang LiemVIE2694

Live games can be watched everyday from 13.00 local time Live Games

You can choose between English and French. The English-language commentators being Glenn Flear (who?) and Javier Moreno.

Moscow 15.00am

Paris, Madrid 13.00am

London 12.00 midday

New York 07.00am

Los Angeles 04.00am

For more information go to the Official site

Anatoly Karpov: always happy to come to Cap d'Agde.

Published on , Updated on